Areas of Co-Operation

In each of the six Areas of Co-Operation common policies and approaches are agreed in the North South Ministerial Council but implemented separately in each jurisdiction.


Common Agricultural Policy issues, animal and plant health policy and research rural development

… more


Education for children with special needs, educational under-achievement, teacher qualifications and school, youth and teacher exchanges

… more


Environment protection, pollution, water quality management and waste management in a cross-border content

… more


Accident and emergency planning, co-operation on high technology equipment, cancer research and health promotion

… more

Tourism including Tourism Ireland

The promotion of the island of Ireland overseas as a  tourist destination via the establishment of a new company, known as Tourism Ireland

… more


Co-operation on a strategic transport planning in road and rail infrastructure and public transport services and road and rail safety

… more